Inner Calm Meditation


Inner Calm Meditation is a step by step process that leads the practitioner inexorably into a deep space of peace, located at our very core. With practice The Inner Calm Meditation can be applied to potentially stressful situations, resolving possible conflict. The Inner Calm Meditation technique will help to instantly undo long standing patterns of behavior that no longer serve us. The Inner Calm Meditation system is easy to learn and requires no previous knowledge.

Inner Calm Meditation is based on authentic practices which have evolved from Martin’s own personal practice, which began over 45 years ago. The Inner Calm Meditation is uses Tantric and Sutric techniques, making them highly accessible. Although rooted in authoritative practices it is a totally unique and use an original approach.

Inner Calm Meditation with Yoga Dharma
Inner Calm Meditation with Yoga Dharma


Yoga tells us that within us all is something called the Atman, which is surrounded by layers of subtle energy called Koshas. Some of these Koshas are manifest energy, and some are unmanifest energy. The Atman is our eternal self, or soul, which is beyond our subjective conscious mind and is the true self.  The Inner Calm Meditation is a system to connect with our true self, or the Atman.

Inner Calm Meditation Yoga Dharma


The Koshas, or sheaths, are made up of five layers which begins with Anamaya Kosha, or the food sheath. This Kosha manifests as the body and is where the Inner Calm Meditation begins. Asana or yoga postures keep the body in good repair and make it possible to sit comfortably.  If we are constantly drawn to the body through discomfort or aches and pains, it becomes a distraction. The second layer is Pranamaya kosha, or the sheath of Prana. Prana permeates everything including inanimate objects. Prana manifest as the breath but is also a part of our subtle body.  Prana is carried around our subtle body through Nadis, or subtle energy channels. The second phase of the Inner Calm Meditation is through breath exercises, or Pranayama practices. The third layer is called Manomaya kosha. Mana means mind, and this Kosha is where we process thoughts and emotions. Here we practice looking inwards, watching our thoughts and emotions as the observer. This practice is called Pratyahara, or mind purification. Next is Vijnanmaya kosha, or the discriminating layer. Here we can see beneath the thinking processing mind (manas) This is known as Buddhi, or intellect, where we won’t be affected by our conscious mind. The practice here is called Dharana, where we develop the ability to train the mind to stay at a single point. The fifth Kosha is the deepest layer, surrounding the Atman. Ananda is described as bliss, but it is a bliss that is beyond our thinking concept of bliss. Here there is no distinction between happy or sad, it just is!  This part of the practice is called Dhyana, or meditation. We must be careful to not get stuck at this layer, as it is still a covering of the Atman. The word maya means veil or appearance. The sheaths or Koshas represent an appearance of reality, or are a veil covering our true self.


Stage 1.

Find a comfortable seated position. If necessary, lay down. The awareness is with the body at this stage, so the use of props may be beneficial.

Stage 2.

In the comfortable position the awareness now shifts to the breath. Bring the awareness to the breath at the tip of the nose. Watch the breath coming and going, for a few minutes. Next allow the exhale to extend slightly. Allow this stage to develop. Now allow a pause at the end of the exhale, and again allow this stage to develop. Bring the awareness to that space between the breaths and notice a calmness. Notice that in this space there is stillness and peace. Hold this practice for a few minutes.

Stage 3.

Now we turn our attention to the mind and our thoughts. Practice watching your thoughts as an observer. Watch the thoughts coming and going. We watch the thoughts without becoming attached to them, in this way they will have no hold over us, they will simply disappear. At this stage our awareness turns more inward, and we become less aware of the outside.

Stage 4.

Now we practice holding the mind at a single point. To achieve this, we will naturally go deeper through the last stage. Our awareness naturally becomes more refined. We will begin to develop the ability through this stage to hold our awareness for longer periods. We continue to feel ourselves being drawn deeper and deeper.

Stage 5.

We have now developed the ability to sustain a single pointed focus for long periods effortlessly. Our awareness will be so deep we lose our concept of the outside world. This stage is meditation.


Buried deep inside us is our True Self, which is beyond life’s dualities. Beyond the veil of Maya, or illusion, rests the truth, and the truth is that everything is connected.

With some practice we can use the techniques set out quite easily. In situations of indecision or conflict simply turning our attention to the breath at the tip of the nose will quickly bring us into a calm space.

Practicing this meditation takes us quickly into a deep space of truth and tranquility.

Martin Thompson.